Halloween: The Strangest of Teas

StrangeTableSettingES

You know, I’d really intended to have this finished and posted by Halloween, but it didn’t quite happen. I suppose I’ll forgive myself for that as this catches me up-to-date on my previous tea parties. And, really, who is here to chastise me for procrastination at this point anyway?

Collage2ES

Ah, Halloween. It’s just the wonderful, isn’t it? I always forget how crisp and full of leaves the air is by October 31st. Autumn is the best of seasons, truly, and it was a given that I would throw one of my parties during, in my opinion, the most romantic time of year. Originally, I thought I’d go with a fall picnic tea. You know, table in the yard, plaid blankets, cornstalks, pumpkins: sort of an autumn harvest theme. But as October approached last year, Halloween was just calling to me: jack-o-lanterns, cobwebs, bats!

HalloweenRoomES

After switching gears, the original set-up was to be in the dining room, like my previous teas; but, when it came time to plan the space, it just didn’t seem right. I have a faux fireplace in my living room (leftover from a theatrical production) and the layout seemed better for the long table we borrowed from my husband’s work. I’m pretty happy with the results. This space allowed for more coziness, and it was a bit less expected.

For decorations we cut out almost a hundred construction paper bats, made a simple dot garland for the mantel, carved pumpkins, and stretched spiderwebs. I was definitely hoping to skew away from cheesy or kiddy Halloween and more toward a rustic, elegant setting.

StrangestofTeasNoA

Bats! Bats! Yep. There’s the Paperless Post invitation. As it notes, costumes were encouraged, and my guests did not disappoint. Aren’t they good looking?

StrangeGuestsES

For the menu – you know, I always make too much food, but I’d rather too much than too little. This time was no different, plus I had a larger tea menu so that guests could choose what they would like to go with each course.

The Strangest of Teas Menu

Earl Grey-infused Hot Cider – You may have noticed a theme in all of my tea parties; I really love earl grey! A recipe inspired, as many things are, by Martha Stewart.
Adagio Lapsang Souchong Tea– One of my favorite teas; it tastes like a fire!
Adagio Honeybush Hazelnut Tea – Mellow and caffeine-free
Adagio Oriental Spice – This is sort of a light chai: ceylon and spice. Fantastic with a little milk and sugar.

Pimento Cheese Sandwiches on Multi-grain – As delicious as they are terrible for you. Cucumber-Avocado Tea Sandwiches on White – A Classic twist.
Smoked Ham, Smoked Gouda, and Brown Mustard on Marble Rye

Cranberry Walnut Scones – “Scones as big as your head!”

Pumpkin Spice Cake with Maple Frosting – I will admit that I wussed out and didn’t make the apple cider caramel. It seemed like too much sugar!

Caramel Apples – Using twigs instead of store-bought sticks made them a bit more decorative.

We didn’t get a good shot of it, but I painted a spiderweb on the glass lid of my cake plate with craft paint (it washes off). You can just see it peaking out on the left side of the photo below.

CollageCakeES

Well, that concludes my 2013 tea party roster. 2014 was a busy one, as my faithful boy and I just got hitched in September of this year. So I had to put my events on hold until after the BIG event! I’ll have more posts, though, so farewell until then!

Thank you, Emily Schwartz Photography!

Leave a Reply

