The Wedding That Was

Photo by Tyler Core

Writing and choosing images for your own wedding post is daunting; especially when your photographer took more than 4,000 pictures over the entire wedding weekend. Yes. That happened. Ultimately I decided that most people looking at wedding  blogs probably care less about our wedding story and more about pretty photos and inspiration for their own wedding. Or was that just me? Hmmm. Anyway, I hope you enjoy.

Ribbons.TCore wedding-57wedding-227 wedding-256wedding-240wedding-362wedding-286

FirstLook2.Tcore

We really could not have asked for a more perfect day for our September 26th wedding. The leaves were just turning, the sun was shining, and the temperature was that divine mixture of warm with a cool autumn breeze. Considering it snowed the weekend after, we were very lucky!

wedding-34wedding-389wedding-432 TheKiss.Tyler.Core

Bryan and I were married under the second largest catalpa tree in Michigan. We wanted our ceremony to be simple and sweet and reflect us as a couple. Our dear friend Weston officiated and couldn’t have written a more heartfelt and beautiful ceremony. One of Bryan’s best men, Chad, wrote and played the gorgeous music to which my dad walked me down the aisle; and Weston’s wife Lindsey – one of my absolute favorite people – read the following by writer and blogger N’tima Pruesser:

Marry your best friend. I do not say that lightly. Really, truly find the strongest, happiest friendship in the person you fall in love with. Someone who speaks highly of you. Someone you can laugh with. The kind of laughs that make your belly ache, and your nose snort. The embarrassing, earnest, healing kind of laughs. Wit is important. Life is too short not to love someone who lets you be a fool with them. Make sure they are somebody who lets you cry, too. Despair will come. Find someone that you want to be there with you through those times. Most importantly, marry the one that makes passion, love, and madness combine and course through you. A love that will never dilute – even when the waters get deep, and dark.”

And I did.

wedding-549 wedding-562wedding-543 wedding-573wedding-575 wedding-462wedding-514wedding-48

What a delightful bunch of goofballs! I love them all. Aren’t Bryan’s boys handsome and my girls just so lovely? I had the bridesmaids pick out their own dresses; the basic specification being that they should sparkle! But did you see the bouquets, you guys? I was so happy with the floral. It was so lush and romantic. The beautiful sun and stunning landscape was obviously working in our favor, too.

wedding-596 wedding-276wedding-617 wedding-694

As they say, your wedding day tends to be a bit of a beautiful blur. Here are some of my favorite moments:

  • Getting ready with my girls at our amazing vacation rental (If you ever need a rental home in southwest Michigan, check out RSVP Rentals!)
  • Getting stuck in one lane traffic, my maid of honor missing the turn to the venue, and then having to drive ten minutes out of our way before we could turn around
  • My step-mom walking in the dressing room, chatting about something, seeing me in my gown, stopping mid-sentence, and starting to cry
  • Hearing Bryan’s uncles’ voices echoing in song across the vineyard as we took pictures with the bridal party
  • Dancing with my dad to Funky Cold Medina
  • Dancing with Bryan, not to our first song (Wild Horses – Rolling Stones) but to January Hymn by The Decemberists
  • Everyone singing the wrong part to Psycho Killer by The Talking Heads every single time
  • Drinking Lambrusco “for grandma”…who was in attendance at the wedding
  • When Bryan and I took a moment to look at the stars and then back at the barn containing all of our beloved family and friends – the moment I had been looking forward to the most

UndertheStars.Tyler.Corewedding-786wedding-757 wedding-71 wedding-832wedding-862

It was a glorious time with just magnificent family and friends: so much love.

When I was planning the wedding, I always appreciated blogs that shared their resources, so I’m going to do so below. If there is anything you have questions about, please feel free to ask! I’m happy to share!

Venue: Hidden Vineyard Wedding Barn, Berrien Springs, MI
Photography: Tyler Core Shoots People
Floral: Beikmann Associates Floral Design
Catering: CK Catering (Not shown, but they were so great I thought I’d share the resource!)
DJ Services: Music Host Entertainment (David was our DJ and he was so great!)

Dress: Jenny Packham – Eden
Necklace and Earrings: My Lavaliere – Etsy
Bracelet: Le Printemps – Etsy
Veil: Melinda Rose Design – Etsy
Hair Accessories: Gilded Shadows – Etsy

Groom’s Suit Jacket: Wallin & Bros.
Groom’s Vest & Pants: Topman (I added the leather buttons to the vest.)

wedding-838

5 thoughts on “The Wedding That Was

Leave a Reply

