DIY Party Badges

IMG_1337

You may have noticed the Robert Burns badges we wore at our Burns Night Supper a couple of weeks ago. They were super simple to make, so I thought I’d do a little DIY post. Look at me! I’m DIYing! OK, truth: I’m really not terribly crafty. Ahem: Onward….

Supplies
Printer
Paper
Card stock, paint chips, or similar heavy paper stock
Ribbon
Mod Podge
Paintbrush
Hot glue gun and glue stick
Pinbacks, straight pins, or safety pins

Step One:IMG_1300

Print the image or images you’d like to use for your badges. These should be small to scale correctly for the badges. In my case, the thumbnail images were exactly the size I needed, so we printed those. You may find you’ll need to use your favorite editing program to resize, though. Oh, have you used PicMonkey? It’s been such a great tool for me; however, I think I’m going to ante up and get Photoshop for reals soon.

Step Two:IMG_1302

Cut the images to the approximate size and shape you’d like to use. I made little ovals because Mr. Burns just looks so fetching in an oval, doesn’t he?

Step Three:IMG_1312

Paste the images to card stock or similar to make them stiffer. I had a bunch of old paint chips, so I used those. I first put a layer of Mod Podge on the paint chip, pressed the image down, and then painted more Mod Podge over it.

Step Four:IMG_1332

While those are drying, cut your ribbon to the desired length. Mine are just under 6 inches and then I cut the ends in a V shape because:  fancy.

Step Five:IMG_1321

Aww, look at them: all shiny and ready for the next step. Once your images are dry, cut them to size off of your card stock.

Step Six:IMG_1336

Fold over your ribbon and put a small dab of glue from your glue gun in between the layers to secure.

Step Seven:IMG_1338

Use your glue gun to secure your image to front/center of your ribbon.

Step Eight:IMG_1353

If you have pin backs or safety pins, you can secure these with your hot glue gun at this time. I did not, so I just used straight pins: no glue required.

Eh, voila! Fun little party badges for your friends!

IMG_1364IMG_1366

Like I said, super simple, right? If you aren’t rushed for time, like I was, I’m sure you can come up with a much more creative ribbon fold and a fancier badge. A blue ribbon style would be quite fantastic, I think. Hmm…yes, perhaps I’ll try that next time!

Leave a Reply

