Valentea: Key to My Heart

CroutonSalad Thank you, Valentine’s Day! Smack dab in the middle of a bleak midwestern winter, the bright reds, pinks, and pastels are exactly the little visual kick I needed to help me slog through the slush and blahs. Bryan and I don’t always make a big deal out of this Hallmark mandated holiday as we’re sort of that “Valentine’s Day is every day!” couple (I know: gag). This first one married, however, seemed kind of special. Valentea.LanternsDoily.Heart.GarlandHeart.Key.Valentine.Table If you’ve read either of my wedding posts, you’ll notice I’ve recycled some of the *many* paper lanterns we bought for our reception. Also, dollar store paper hearts for the win! I strung some along the bookcases with baker’s twine, and I think they really helped dress up the space for just a few bucks. valentine.boutonniereHeart.Key.Necklace.5 Aww, look at him up there. He’s so cute! I made a tiny boutonniere for Bryan and a necklace for myself out of vintage heart locks and keys I found on etsy. We picked up Bryan’s vintage tie at an antique store a couple of years ago. ValenteaSweetsHearts.Keys.Cookies.2Heart.Key.NapkinTeacup.Heart.Key You can find a video tutorial for the heart-shaped napkin fold here. The vintage keys are leftovers from a photo shoot my theatre company (The Strange Tree Group) did many years ago. PouringTea Heart.Key.Cookies So many sugary confections! My key cookies and croutons were made with an adorable cutter from The Gingerbread Cutter Company.

Valentea Key to My Heart Menu

Heart-key Tea – My own blend that perhaps I’ll post about later.

Strawberry Lime Infused Water – We are infused water fiends!
Heart-shaped Chicken Pot Hand Pies – Simple Filling and crust: we added some Bohemian Forest spice from Savory. Yum!
Toasted Crab Cake Sandwich with Remoulade Sauce
Teacup Salad with Rosemary Rose Croutons – Leftover pie crust & a little magic = tasty croutons!
Linzer Tarts – Absolutely delicious and a cinch to make!
Thumbprint Macaroons – My husband’s new favorite, adapted from this recipe.
Iced Sugar Cookies – I used the remaining dough from the Linzers and an egg-free icing. This was my first time flooding!

Can’t wait to do it again. I hope that you had a sweet Valentine’s Day!

Drinking theTea

Leave a Reply

