A Floral Crown for St. Patrick’s Day

robin.egg.blue.dress.floral.2

If you’ve read some of my previous posts, it should be no surprise to you that I adore Ireland and pretty much all things Irish; however, I will admit that I am not a big lover of our most Irish of holidays, St. Patrick’s Day. Gulping neon green beer whilst wearing a blinking shamrock headband isn’t really my idea of a good time and could not remind me less of the gorgeous natural beauty of The Emerald Isle. As I was trying to think of a way to celebrate in a more appropriate manner this year, Emily came up with the perfect activity: a St. Patrick’s Day inspired floral crown class at Forget Me Knodt!

St.Patricks.FloralIrish.Floral.Crown.2Smiling.Crown

Forget Me Knodt is an adorable little flower and gift shop in Chicago owned by florist Janessa Knodt, whose love for floral design is a family affair going back generations. As we giddily chose from a wide variety of flowers (including green dyed carnations for the St. Patty’s diehards) and greeneries to use for our one-of-a-kind creations, we sipped a sinful whiskey punch courtesy of Femme du Coupe and devoured a delectable assortment of cheeses and crackers. It was a full house that night, but everyone earned their sharing badges and it was a marvelous time. You can see some of the other beauteous crowns on Forget Me Knodt’s Instagram; they were all so unique!

Irish.Floral.Crown.3Side.View.FloralFloral.Crown.SideRustic.Petals

I knew I wanted to create something very rustic, natural, and reminiscent – to me, anyway – of lush Irish fields, wildflowers, and wood fairies. I chose to focus mostly on greenery and other leafy materials, with only three small spray roses to anchor.

Floral recipe
Spray roses
Dill – the greenery with the yellow blooms
Fern – two different kinds
Olive
Rosemary
Purple seeded eucalyptus – I’m not 100% certain, but it’s very similar.

What a fun experience! I have always wanted to work with floral, and I can’t wait to take another class from Janessa at Forget Me Knodt! If you are in the area, absolutely stop in or sign up for a class.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I hope it is festive, fun, and safe!

Eye.on.the.Floral.Crown

Leave a Reply

