Lovely Ladies Holiday Tea

december-ladies-tea

The holiday season typically extends far beyond December in our household. Midwestern winters tend to be cold, grey, and harsh, so the twinkle lights and greenery  continue to add a little festivity and brightness right up until around March 1st. All that to say, here’s a little Christmas blog in January!

In mid December I held a small ladies’ tea for my main group of lovelies. It came together last minute and I was determined to do it on a budget as 2016 had been an expensive year (graduations, weddings, etc.) and, of course, Christmas was hovering. I was pretty satisfied with the results and, besides, the company is always the best part!

christmas-pin-and-tie

Oh, hey, I made a thing…with one of my husband’s ties and a vintage brooch.

december-ambiance

december-table

sparkles-and-plaid

Though our holiday decor leans toward English traditional, I wanted to keep this party light and bright. My Mikasa Christmas Holly china – a gift from my dear aunt – helped set the tone.

christmas-punch

punch-jen-g

delicious-beets

holiday-water

better-butter

em-and-scones-2

candy-oranges

jen-and-kate-christmas-ea

cranberry-cake-table

cranberry-cake

Lovely Ladies Holiday Tea Menu

Tea Sandwiches – Classic roasted red pepper and cucumber

Oven Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese – Beets are the new brussel sprouts…or something like that.

Rosemary Cheese Crescents – A cheater recipe, for sure, but scrumptious all the same.

Cranberry-Orange Scones – I made mine without the glaze. They were particularly delicious with marmalade.

Brûléed Persimmon Tarts – The crust for these was divine, but the filling is a bit too sweet and rich for me. I think next time I’d make these smaller with a custard filling.

Cranberry Buttermilk Upside Down Cake – We were so full that we didn’t even cut into this! Ha! It made for delicious leftovers, though.

Chocolate orange slices – I sprinkled smoked sea salt on some for a little kick.

Rudolph’s Tipsy Punch – A nice Southern Living recipe. We drained this dry.

Fortnum & Mason Spiced Christmas Tea – Fortnum & Mason is my favorite department store in London. Their tea section is out of control.

Cranberry-Rosemary Infused Water – Put rosemary in anything and I’m a happy gal.

becca-and-jen

punchy-ladies

punch-light

Happy new year to you and yours! Let us all strive for more love, laughter, and compassion in 2017!

laughing-ladies

*As always, photos by the talented Emily Schwartz are marked. The handful of others are mine.

If you’re interested in more merry, winter party inspiration, check out my Pinterest board!

3 thoughts on “Lovely Ladies Holiday Tea

Leave a Reply

